MACROFASHION

lakeside

Posted in macrobiotics by jill on September 14, 2010

Been very busy in the kitchen, especially with the arrival of new students this week. I’ve been lucky enough to squeeze a few classes in, which I will definitely share more of in some upcoming posts. In the meantime, here are a few more meal shots, including a hijiki salad (with carrots and shiitake) and a rice and bean dish with squash, sweet potato and brussel sprouts.

Photobucket

I’ve been enjoying the idea of macrobiotic sauces, derived from seeds (the meal above uses sunflower seeds). I drizzled some over my kale that day, but on other days I put some over my grains.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Becket Beach, a lake nearby that actually has sand.

Photobucket

My roommates and I have also been borrowing a few books from the library. I’ve been reading The Order of the Universe by George Ohsawa and skimming a few other cookbooks.

The book list as of this week also includes:
Zen and the Fine Art of Cooking, by Jon Sandifer
Aveline Kushi’s Complete Guide To Macrobiotic Cooking, by Aveline Kushi
The Changing Seasons Macrobiotic Cookbook, by Aveline Kushi and Wendy Esko

The Kushi library has a lot of interesting items from the 70s and 80s. Vintage macrobiotic material is readily available, as we are able to borrow items such as cassette and VHS tapes. The other day, my roommate and I unsuccessfully borrowed a rather dull video on the Lundberg Farms and growing rice, filmed in the 80s. Perhaps we will luck out tomorrow with another video, with young Ohsawa talking about the benefits of legumes.

Tagged with: ,

Leave a Reply

